Happy New Year!


Happy New Year! I hope everyone has had a good holiday season! Steadily I’ve been making progress on the new version of Pork and PorkScript. After much planning and work, I am almost 2/3 done with the entire project. Much work is still to be made on the PorkScript parser (parsers/lexers for high-level languages are complex!), but eventually I shall have it finished along with version 2 of Pork (a complete re-write of the game).

The new version of PorkScript is far more powerful than the old, archaic PorkScript used for the current version. It resembles a true high-level language, and has syntax comparable to that of Python and BASIC. With the new version, users will be able to create text-based adventure games with custom commands, custom properties, states for maps, and so much more! All the glaring issues in the current version of Pork are theoretically fixed with the new version.

Creating the parser for such a language has been a challenge (given that I have no experience with these types of programs, and have had no direction in how to build the parser). I also apologize for the lack of posts over the months, but I have been busy with school and the new version of Pork. I do give my thanks to all those who have downloaded this game! I’ve also seen the game talked about in some forums and people seem to genuinely enjoy it! I thank all of you for your interest in this project and I hope that the new version of Pork will knock your socks off!

Also, according to the report WordPress gave me, the UK has viewed our site more than any other country. So thank you, United Kingdom, you’re awesome! (And I’ve been to London and I have to say, the weather there is lovely! It’s my favorite city, right next to the Czech Republic’s Prague!)

— Andy Brennan

Leave a Reply

